Paypal and Venmo integrate Bitcoin

The payment services PayPal and Venmo want to integrate Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies into their services as a payment method.

"I understand that buying and selling cryptocurrencies will work directly in PayPal and Venmo." The payment services would "have a kind of integrated wallet in which you could secure the currency."

However, it is not yet clear at this point which cryptocurrencies will be included. In addition to Bitcoin, Ethereum, Ripple, Tether and other currencies could also be supported. According to Coindesk, the feature should be integrated into the payment services in the next three months.

Around 325 million people worldwide use the Paypal payment service - even if only a fraction of them start trading Bitcoin and Co., this could change the crypto scene forever.

Paypal & Venmo follow Square and Robinhood

Paypal and Venmo would not be the first payment services to integrate cryptocurrencies. The company Square, Inc. by Twitter boss Jack Dorsey, for example, has been supporting Bitcoin as the only cryptocurrency since 2018, while the trading app Coinbase allows its users to trade a wide variety of cryptocurrencies.

Florian Döhnert-Breyer from Berlin-based crypto investment company F5 Crypto Capital said that it seemed as if Paypal could no longer evade the emerging crypto market and the “meanwhile significant sales from exchanges like Coinbase or payment service providers like Square” . The managing partner believes that a change of direction from PayPal to a cryptocurrency trading venue would be "a milestone for the recognition of the crypto industry".

A spokesman for crypto investment company BTC Direct said similarly to Business Insider, saying the move was a confirmation that Bitcoin is being taken seriously. However, the company spokesman does not expect Paypal to attract new customers through the move. Those who "want to buy Bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies will find their way anyway," he says. In the other direction, however, it could very well stir up the market. Because if PayPal can convince even one percent of their customers to buy Bitcoin, there will be 3.5 million new buyers.

Paypal und Venmo integrieren Bitcoin

Die Bezahldienste Paypal und Venmo wollen Bitcoin und andere Kryptowährungen als Bezahlmethode in ihre Dienste integrieren.

„Nach meinem Verständnis wird das Kaufen und Verkaufen von Kryptowährungen direkt in Paypal und Venmo funktionieren.“ Die Bezahldienste würden „über eine Art integriertes Wallet verfügen, in dem man die Währung sichern könnte.“

Es sei jedoch zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht klar welche Kryptowährungen genau dabei sein werden. Neben Bitcoin könnten so auch Ethereum, Ripple, Tether und weitere Währungen unterstützt werden. Laut Coindesk soll das Feature bereits in den kommenden drei Monaten in die Bezahldienste integriert werden soll.

Weltweit nutzen rund 325 Millionen Menschen den Bezahldienst Paypal – selbst wenn nur ein Bruchteil davon nun anfängt, mit Bitcoin und Co. zu handeln, könnte das die Krypto-Szene nachhaltig verändern.

Paypal & Venmo folgen Square und Robinhood

Paypal und Venmo wären nicht die ersten Bezahldienste, die Kryptowährungen integrieren. Das Unternehmen Square, Inc. von Twitter-Chef Jack Dorsey etwa unterstützt seit 2018 Bitcoin als einzige Kryptowährung, während die Trading-App Coinbase seinen Nutzern den Handel mit verschiedensten Kryptowährungen erlaubt.

Florian Döhnert-Breyer vom Berliner Krypto-Investment-Unternehmen F5 Crypto Capital sagte, dass es so scheine, als ob sich Paypal dem weiter aufstrebenden Krypto-Markt sowie den „mittlerweile signifikanten Umsätzen von Börsen wie Coinbase oder Zahlungsdienstleistern wie Square nicht mehr entziehen“ könne. Der geschäftsführende Partner geht davon aus, dass ein Richtungswechsel von Paypal hin zu einem Handelsplatz von Kryptowährungen „für die Anerkennung der Krypto-Industrie ein Meilenstein“ wäre.

Ein Sprecher des Krypto-Investment-Unternehmens BTC Direct äußerte sich gegenüber Business Insider ähnlich und sprach davon, dass der Schritt eine Bestätigung dafür sei, dass Bitcoin ernst genommen wird. Der Unternehmenssprecher erwartet jedoch nicht, dass Paypal durch den Schritt Neukunden werben wird. Diejenigen, „die Bitcoin oder andere Kryptowährungen kaufen möchten, finden ihren Weg sowieso“, sagt er. In die andere Richtung könnte es jedoch sehr wohl den Markt aufmischen. Denn wenn Paypal auch nur ein Prozent ihrer Kunden davon überzeugen können, Bitcoin zu kaufen, dann gibt es 3,5 Millionen neue Käufer.