Skype Translator for Windows desktops will be available soon.

The next update from Skype brings a translator into play. Skype for Windows 7, 8.x and 10 users expect this update or upgrade in the next few weeks. The globe icon then indicates the availability of Skype Translator. Calls in German, English, French, Italian, Mandarin and Spanish can be translated in both directions.

Microsoft has integrated the previously independent translation app Skype Translator into its Windows desktop application. The new function will be introduced step by step from now on. A verbal communication shows a translation of the conversation. Instant messages can be converted to 50 languages.

Skype (Blog):

“Skype has long dreamed of breaking down the language barriers and bringing all people worldwide closer together. Researchers, engineers, and many others at Microsoft have worked hard to make this dream come true, and we look forward to bringing the preview technology to more devices.”

For the first time in May 2014, the service was presented by Microsoft at the Recode Code Conference in Palos Verdes, California. Back then, Skype boss Gurdeep Singh Pall demonstrated the function live with a German conversation partner. While the translation from German to English was neat, the translation from English to German was flawed and worked by machine. Satya Nadella (Microsoft CEO) emphasized on this occasion: "It is about creating a learning system that improves with the number of data."

It is still unclear whether Microsoft Skype Translator is now being integrated into its VoIP application on other platforms or is planned. Furthermore, there are no plans for Windows 10 Mobile, Mac OS X, Linux, Android, iOS or Blackberry.

Skype Translator (Übersetzer) für Windows-Desktops ist bald verfügbar.

Das nächste Update von Skype bringt einen Translator ins Spiel. Nutzer von Skype für Windows 7, 8.x und 10 erwartet in den nächsten Wochen dieses Update bzw. Upgrade. Das Weltkugel-Symbol zeigt dann die Verfügbarkeit von Skype Translator an. Telefonate in den Sprachen Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Mandarin und Spanisch kann die App in beide Richtungen übersetzen.

Microsoft hat die bisher eigenständige Übersetzungs-App Skype Translator in seine Windows-Desktop-Anwendung integriert. Die neue Funktion wird ab sofort schrittweise eingeführt. Bei der verbalen Kommunikation blendet eine Übersetzung des Gesprächs ein. Sofortnachrichten können in 50 Sprachen umgewandelt werden.

Skype (Blog):

„Skype träumt schon länger davon, die Sprachbarrieren einzureißen und alle Menschen weltweit näher zusammenzubringen. Forscher, Ingenieure und viele andere bei Microsoft haben hart gearbeitet, damit dieser Traum wahr wird, und wir freuen uns darauf, die Preview-Technology auf weitere Geräte zu bringen.“

Erstmals Mai 2014 wurde der Dienst von Microsoft auf der Recode Code Conference im kalifornischen Palos Verdes vorgestellt. Der Skype-Chef Gurdeep Singh Pall demonstrierte damals die Funktion live mit einer deutschen Gesprächspartnerin. Während die Übersetzung vom Deutschen ins Englische ordentlich war, war die Übersetzung vom Englischen ins Deutsche fehlerhaft und wirkte maschinel. Satya Nadella (Microsoft-CEO) betonte aus diesem Anlass: „Es geht um die Schaffung eines lernenden Systems, das sich mit der Anzahl der Daten verbessert.“

Noch ist unklar, ob Microsoft Skype Translator nun auch auf anderen Plattformen in seine VoIP-Anwendung integriert wird oder geplant ist. Desweiteren sind bisher weder Pläne für Windows 10 Mobile, noch für Mac OS X, Linux, Android, iOS oder Blackberry bekannt.